What’s for Dinner?

What’s for Dinner?

Slow Cooker Chili!

Thursday, August 27th, was my amazing fiancé’s birthday and one of his birthday gifts was a Crock Pot. We’ve been talking about getting one for ages and we finally got one. I also got him The Hobbit on DVD and a few other things but the slow cooker was definitely a highlight that will help us around the house.

My first recipe I tried out on this bad boy was chili. I love chili but I have never had it out of a slow cooker! Where has this been all my life? I’ve also never actually used a slow cooker personally so I figured this recipe would be safe for me to try out.


Very few and simple ingredients: minced garlic, garlic salt, pepper, chili powder, 2 cans of tomato sauce, and chili beans and 1 lb of browned ground beef. Once I get more comfortable I may get some uncooked kidney beans or pinto beans instead of the canned kind but I’m still learning how to use the slow cooker.

First thing to ever go into the crockpot!


While I diced the veggies and added all the ingredients into the crock pot I had the ground beef browning so my prep time was as efficient as possible.

And now we wait! I put it on low for 6 hours.  The weirdest part about using a slow cooker was the part where once all the ingredients were in I had to ignore it. I read a few tips on how to use a slow cooker and rule number 1 is DO NOT OPEN THE LID especially during the first two hours. I did not like that rule though I understand how it is important to keep the heat from escaping.

Chili time!

Once my chili was ready I added some shredded  cheese and sour cream and served it over rice with garlic toast. I also threw on a piece of cilantro to dress it up for the picture lol.

Slow Cooker Chili

  • Servings: 6-8
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

1 tomato
1 onion
1 can chili beans
2 8 oz cans of tomato sauce
1 tbsp chili powder
1 tbsp minced garlic
Garlic salt and black pepper to taste
1 lb browned ground beef

Sour cream and shredded cheese, if desired

Directions:

  1. Brown ground beef
  2. Dice tomato and onion
  3. Put all ingredients into crock pot (veggies on the bottom) while ground beef cooks
  4. Drain ground beef and add into crock pot
  5. Cook on low for 6 hours
  6. Serve with shredded cheese and sour cream

Leave a Reply

