Packing for Disney

Packing for Disney

This week the family will be going to Orlando for some theme park fun at Walt Disney World and Universal Studios.

My stepson is being given a Dream Trip to Disney thanks to Dreams Come True of Jacksonville, it’s just like Make a Wish. He will be going from Monday through Sunday, the first half of the trip will be spent with his mom, step-dad, and siblings on her side. Thursday is his 6th birthday and that’s when me, his dad, Delilah, and my mom will join him. We’ll actually be arriving in Orlando on Wednesday but Thursday Liam is going to go to the parks with his mom. Thursday evening we will all be having a dinner for Liam’s birthday at the T-Rex Cafe in Downtown Disney. After his birthday dinner his mom will leave and we’ll take over the hotel room and finish off the trip with him. We’re so fortunate that we were able to split this trip in half, it gives both of Liam’s families a chance to experience this amazing trip with him.

I am a huge planner so the first part of any trip is packing. I like to make sure all the laundry is done because it’s nice to have all the clothes we have to choose from and it’s one less thing to worry about when we come home. I don’t like to pack too early ahead of time either, usually 2-3 days before a trip is more than enough time.

We plan on arriving early Wednesday evening and leaving Sunday after a day at Universal so that’s 4 nights and 5 days we need to pack for although we won’t have to worry about Liam until Thursday night.

My favorite part of packing is the clothes and picking out what to dress the kids in.

I usually pack Liam’s bag first then Delilah’s. For shorter 2 night/3 day trips I can usually get away with combining the kids’ clothing into one duffle bag but since this is a longer trip and Liam will be given presents from the hotel, Give Kids the World, I am giving each child their own duffle bag with plenty of extra room for souvenirs.

For Liam I am packing 3 pairs of boardshorts and 3 rash guards, one long sleeve and two short sleeve. He has one polo and one button up shirt and a pair of jeans as his “nice clothes” for the trip, just in case we decide to do something that involves a nice outfit. We don’t have any plans in the itinerary but I like to be prepared. Then I packed 3 shirts, 3 tank tops, and 3 pairs of shorts. This gives me a lot of versatility for the trip, I don’t like to be confined to only a set amount of options because I tend to change my mind. I packed 2 sets of PJS, 4 nights is a long time to wear only 1 set of PJS in a row. Then 5 pairs of underwear, 1 for each day we have Liam then an extra pair just in case. I grabbed 4 pairs of socks in case he wears sneakers every day of the trip but that’s not likely, again just a case of safe rather than sorry. A hat is a must have item for a ginger child in Florida, I would hate for his little head to get sunburnt! Shoes include 2 pairs of sneakers, a pair of Toms as his nice shoes, a pair of flip flops, and a pair of sandals. Toiletries include his medicine, toothbrush and toothpaste, blanket, and a night light. Sunscreen was packed into Delilah’s bag. Normally I would pack a few toys for him but he will be receiving toys on the trip so I don’t have to worry about that!


 And there’s still plenty of room for the goodies he will be receiving!

Next up is Delilah’s bag!

For her I packed a few extra things that Liam doesn’t need since she’s a baby and he’s a big kid. Diapers, wipes. and a changing pad. A sleeve of diapers plus what’s in the diaper bag should be enough. Luckily, diapers are a lot easier to buy than an extra outfit so if I end up not having enough it won’t ruin the trip. I also packed a hooded towel for her, we got so many from the baby shower I figure I may as well get use out of all of them. I packed a lightweight hooded towel to bring into the park via the diaper bag as well, we all know there will probably be water play at the parks so swim diapers are another major thing to remember. I am bringing 2 bathing suits and one long sleeve rash guard. I’m bringing 2 just because if I need to use them on back to back days I don’t run the risk of the bathing suit still being damp. Delilah also has 2 pairs of PJS for the same reason as Liam. I packed two dresses (each with matching bloomers) and a pair of overalls to dress up any shirt just in case we need a nice outfit. I packed 3 tank tops, 5 shirts, 1 cardigan, 3 shorts, 1 skirt, and 1 pair of leggings for a variety of outfit options. I packed 4 pairs of socks although she really doesn’t need socks for any of her shoes, but if her shoes do give her blisters then the socks will come in handy. She has 2 pairs of shoes, 1 pair of flip flops, and 1 pair of sock shoe things. I am bringing 4 types of sunscreen including baby sunscreen lotion, baby sunscreen foam, regular sunscreen lotion, and sunscreen spray which I’m putting in a waterproof bag to prevent spillage; between her sensitive baby skin and Liam’s sensitive ginger skin I can’t afford to skip on the sunscreen. Her toiletries include her baby shampoo and cup, baby lotion, diaper rash cream, and a bag filled with accesories: her comb, bows, hair bands, baby tylenol, babiator sunglasses, toothbrush, and nail clippers. Finally I’m packing a blanket, her favorite toy Darla, 2 stuffed dolls, 2 of her favorite books, and a few plastic toys she can use in the bath tub.  

 And here we have everything in her duffle bag with room to spare. Her outfit for the drive is on top of the bag and ready to go!
Another important part of packing with a baby is the diaper bag! I like to have it stocked with diapers and wipes and then I’ll add items that I packed as needed and snacks. Luckily with a breastfed baby one major item I don’t have to pack or worry about is bottles!

As for packing for myself and my fiance, that will be mostly a haphazard combination of clothes with no real rhyme or rhythm to it. The same concepts will be used such as a nice outfit for going out just in case, bathing suits, extra underwear, and clothing options that offer a variety of combinations but when packing for the kids I just put a lot more thought, care, and effort into it. I’ve packed for myself for several dozen trips (probably over a hundred trips!) so I know what I need and can go without something if I forget it but with kids I’ve learned it’s also better to have too much and be over prepared.

3 thoughts on “Packing for Disney

Leave a Reply

