What’s For Lunch?

What’s For Lunch?

A fun twist on pasta!

Today Joseph and I had a simple vegetarian lunch. My boy LOVES his veggies and beans so this was an easy way for this momma to fill that little belly! I didn’t have any meat defrosted so instead of waiting I used what I had on hand and it turned out pretty good considering I was just throwing things together last minute.

I started off by cooking a whole box of rigatoni pasta. You can use whatever kind pasta you’d like. If you are making a lunch you wont need a whole box, I cook the whole box at once because I love pasta and will use the leftovers later.

Next, I chopped up one medium/large zucchini and sautéed it on medium high heat with about ½ tbsp of butter (you can also use olive oil as a healthier alternative). I let that sautée for about 3-5 minutes.

zucchini

Next, I added a whole can of drained cannellini beans to the zucchini.

zucc3

I added a splash of the pasta water to prevent the beans and zucchini from burning. This helped to make a nice sauce. I drained the pasta while the veggies cooked then added a few spoonfuls of diced tomatoes (we used canned tomatoes with italian seasoning)  to it and all of the juice that was in the can as well.

Add as much or as little tomatoes as you’d like, I only added a few spoonfuls. But be sure to add all of the juice from the can, the beans cook down really easily and can make the sauce a little thick and paste like. Adding all of the juice from the diced tomatoes really helps out. You could also add some regular tomato sauce to thin it out as well.

zucc4

I let it all simmer for about another minute and then added just enough pasta so that it was coated evenly.

At the end I added a little Garlic Parmesan cheese on top

zucc7

Veggie Pasta

  • Servings: 2-4
  • Time: 15mins
  • Difficulty: easy
  • Print

Ingredients:

Pasta (any variety)        1/2 box

Diced Zucchini              1

Butter                             ½ tbsp

Cannellini Beans  1 can

Diced tomatoes (with italian seasonings) ½ can plus all the juice

Splash of pasta water

Parmesan Cheese (optional)

Directions:

  1. Boil pasta & drain
  2. Saute Zucchini with butter
  3. Add cannellini beans and splash of pasta water & cook for 2-5 minutes
  4. Add desired amount of diced tomatoes and all juice from can, stir to combine
  5. Add cooked pasta
  6. Sprinkle with Parmesan cheese (optional) and serve!

Leave a Reply

